TBT: 2000 Husker Captains

The 2000 Nebraska squad started the year ranked No. 1 in the AP poll and carried the No. 1 ranking all the way up until their Oct. 28 showdown at No. 3 Oklahoma.
NU would go on to lose that day to the Sooners 31-14 and Bob Stoops officially became a household name in college football as OU captured the national championship that season. The Huskers also lost that season 29-28 at No. 16 Kansas State and finished the year 10-2.
What made the 2000 season unique was Nebraska had six team captains appointed by head coach Frank Solich. It's the only time ever in program history that happened - the 2001 team had five captains.
Solich named running back Dan Alexander, offensive linemen Russ Hochstein and Jason Schwab, defensive linemen Kyle Vanden Bosch and Loran Kaiser and linebacker Carlos Polk all as team captains because the team voting was so close.
Vanden Bosch, Polk and Hochstein would all go on to have very successful NFL careers following the 2000 season. Hochstein was named into the Nebraska football Hall of Fame this week, joining Polk and Alexander who were elected in already in previous years. It's only a matter of time before Vanden Bosch joins them as he just recently wrapped up his 12-year NFL career.