football Edit

NU racks up more preseason Big 12 honors

A day after being named a unanimous selection by the Big 12 media to win the North, the league announced on Thursday four Nebraska players are preseason first team all-conference selections heading into the 2010 season.
Junior defensive tackle Jared Crick led the way for the Huskers as a unanimous selection on defense, along with sharing the preseason defensive player of the year honors with Texas A&M's Von Miller.
In 2009, former NU defensive tackles Ndamukong Suh was also the preseason Big 12 defensive player of the year and he ended up winning the award at the conclusion of the season.
Joining Crick on defense was senior cornerback Prince Amukamara, who many consider the top NFL draft prospect in the conference. Amukamara was also a first-team All Big 12 selection last season.
On offense, senior tight end Mike McNeill took home first-team pre-season honors, along with senior kicker Alex Henery.
The preseason offensive player of the year went to Texas A&M quarterback Jerrod Johnson, while the preseason newcomer of the year award went to Colorado wide-out Toney Clemons, who came to CU from Michigan.
Oklahoma led the league with seven first-team selections, while Texas had six, but five of those six came on the defensive side of the ball. Both Texas A&M and Nebraska were next with four pre-season first team selections.
Big 12 Media Days will kick-off in Dallas on Monday afternoon. NU is the first team that will address the media with head coach Bo Pelini, along with senior wide receiver Niles Paul, senior defensive end Pierre Allen and Amukamara.
2010 Media Preseason All-Big 12 Football Team
Offensive Player of the Year:
Jerrod Johnson, Texas A&M (QB, 6-5, 243, Sr/3L, Humble, Texas)
Defensive Co-Players of the Year: Jared Crick, Nebraska (DL, 6-6, 285, Jr, 2L, Cozad, Neb.) and
Von Miller, Texas A&M (DE/LB, 6-3, 240, Sr/3L, DeSoto, Texas)
Newcomer of the Year:
Toney Clemons, Colorado (WR, 6-2, 205, Jr/TR, New Kensington, Pa.)
Pos Name School Ht Wt Cl/Exp Hometown
WR Ryan Broyles# Oklahoma 5-11 183 Jr/2L Norman, Okla.
TE Mike McNeill Nebraska 6-4 235 Sr/3L Kirkwood, Mo.
OL Nate Solder* Colorado 6-9 300 Sr/3L Buena Vista, Calif.
OL Ryan Miller Colorado 6-8 310 Jr/3L Littleton, Colo.
C Tim Barnes Missouri 6-4 310 Sr/3L Longwood, Mo.
OL Tanner Hawkinson Kansas 6-6 293 So/1L McPherson, Kan.
OL Stephen Good Oklahoma 6-6 299 Jr/2L Paris, Texas
OL Kyle Hix Texas 6-7 325 Sr/3L Aledo, Texas
WR Jeff Fuller Texas A&M 6-4 215 Jr/2L McKinney, Texas
QB Jerrod Johnson# Texas A&M 6-5 243 Sr/3L Humble, Texas
RB Daniel Thomas* Kansas State 6-2 228 Sr/1L Hilliard, Fla.
RB DeMarco Murray^# Oklahoma 6-1 207 Sr/3L Las Vegas, Nev.
PK Alex Henery^# Nebraska 6-2 175 Sr/3L Omaha, Neb.
KR Cyrus Gray Texas A&M 5-10 196 Jr/2L DeSoto, Texas
DL Aldon Smith Missouri 6-5 255 So/1L Raytown, Mo.
DL Jared Crick* Nebraska 6-6 285 Jr/2L Cozad, Neb.
DL Jeremy Beal# Oklahoma 6-3 267 Sr/3L Carrollton, Texas
DL Sam Acho Texas 6-3 260 Sr/3L Dallas, Texas
LB Travis Lewis^* Oklahoma 6-2 232 Jr/2L San Antonio, Texas
LB Keenan Robinson Texas 6-3 239 Jr/2L Plano, Texas
LB Von Miller* Texas A&M 6-3 240 Sr/3L DeSoto, Texas
LB Brian Duncan Texas Tech 6-1 240 Sr/3L Baton Rouge, La.
DB Prince Amukamara* Nebraska 6-1 205 Sr/3L Glendale, Ariz.
DB Quinton Carter# Oklahoma 6-1 200 Sr/3L Las Vegas, Nev.
DB Aaron Williams Texas 6-1 195 Jr/2L Round Rock, Texas
DB Curtis Brown Texas 6-0 184 Sr/3L Gilmer, Texas
DB Blake Gideon Texas 6-1 205 Jr/2L Leander, Texas
P Derek Epperson* Baylor 6-3 235 Sr/3L Southlake, Texas
PR Ryan Broyles^ Oklahoma 5-11 178 Jr/2L Norman, Okla.
^ 2009 Preseason Team
* 2009 All-Big 12 First Team selection
# 2009 All-Big 12 Second Team selection
Ties in voting created an additional spot at offensive line, defensive back and linebacker.
Unanimous selections: DL - Jared Crick (NU) and Jeremy Beal (OU); LB - Travis Lewis (OU)