Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Rivals Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

August 24, 2007

Buckeyes name three captains

COLUMBUS, Ohio - Kirk Barton, Dionte Johnson and James Laurinaitis were elected as 2007 captains of the Ohio State football team, as announced to the squad today. Because of close voting on the defense, a second defensive captain will be named for each game.

"I am more appreciative than I can say about being voted captain," said Barton, a senior offensive lineman from Massillon Perry High School in Massillon, Ohio. "We have worked hard and are ready for a great season, and it will be an honor bigger than I can say to serve as a team leader."

"This is a terrific honor and I am humbled to have been given this responsibility by my teammates," says Johnson, a senior fullback from the Eastmoor Academy in Columbus, Ohio. "This team can do great things in 2007."

"Being voted as team captain is a great honor," said Laurinaitis, a junior linebacker from Wayzata High School in Hamel, Minn. "I will do everything I can to represent this team and this university the very best I can. We have a great opportunity starting next Saturday."

Ohio State opens the 2007 season on Saturday, September 1, hosting Youngstown State in a noon game at Ohio Stadium.

Nebraska NEWS


Latest Headlines:

Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos HuskerOnline.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2014 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.