Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Rivals Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

June 20, 2006

Inman named to Outland Watch List

DALLAS (FWAA) The Football Writers Association of America has announced the 2006 Outland Trophy Watch List. Fifty-four standout linemen from around the country have been nominated for consideration in the preseason.

The Outland Trophy has been awarded to the best offensive or defensive lineman in college football since 1946. The winner is selected by the FWAA's All-America Committee, which selects the association's 25-man team and picks three Outland Trophy finalists.

The 2005 Outland Trophy announcement will be on Dec. 7 in Orlando, Fla., on the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show. The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee and First Data Corporation, is set for Jan. 11, 2007, in Omaha, Neb.

Minnesota center Greg Eslinger won the 2005 Outland Trophy. He was the third player from Minnesota to win the award after Tom Brown (1960) and Bobby Bell (1962). He is only the third center to claim major-college football's third-oldest award.

The Outland Trophy has been awarded annually by the FWAA since 1946. It is named after the late John Outland, a lineman at Pennsylvania at the turn of the century.

Nebraska has more Outland Trophy winners than another school. Seven Cornhuskers have claimed the trophy, with Nebraska center Dave Rimington being the only player to win it twice (in 1981 and '82).

Additional Outland Trophy candidates may be added during the course of the season. Tackles, guards and centers are eligible for consideration.

Player, SchoolPos.Cl.Hometown
Will Arnold, LSUGJr.Gloster, Miss.
Sam Baker, USCOTJr.Tustin, Calif.
Kirk Barton, Ohio StateOTJr.Massillon, Ohio
George Batiste, Southern MissOLSr.Avondale, La.
Josh Beekman, Boston CollegeGSr.Amsterdam, N.Y.
Justin Blalock, TexasOTSr.Plano, Texas
Conrad Bolston, MarylandDTSr.Burtonsville, Md.
Levi Brown, Penn StateOTSr.Norfolk, Va.
Andrew Browning, Boise StateDTSr.Lake Oswego, Ore.
Ryan Clady, Boise StateOTSo.Rialto, Calif.
Brent Curvey, Iowa StateDLSr.Houston, Texas
Brian Daniels, ColoradoOLSr.Evergreen, Colo.
Tim Duckworth, AuburnGSr.Taylorsville, Miss.
Mark Fenton, ColoradoCSr.Inglewood, Calif.
Doug Free, Northern IllinoisOTSr.Manitowoc, Wis.
Roman Fry, ClemsonOLSr.Ironton, Ohio
Howie Fuimaono, UNLVDLSr.Chula Vista, Calif.
Rhema Fuller, ConnecticutDTSr.Cocoa, Fla.
Jared Gaither, MarylandOTSo.White Plains, Md.
Ryan Harris, Notre DameOLSr.St. Paul, Minn.
Daniel Inman, GeorgiaOTSr.Hope Mills, N.C.
Tanner Jenkins, Arkansas StateCSr.Baton Rouge, La.
Chase Johnson, WyomingOTSr.Loveland, Colo.
Ryan Kalil, USCCSr.Corona, Calif.
Jake Kuresa, BYUOLSr.Millville, Utah
Jake Long, MichiganOLSr.Lapeer, Mich.
Enoka Lucas, OregonCSr.Honolulu, Hawaii
Kurt Mann, NebraskaOLSr.Grand Island, Neb.
Brandon Mebane, CaliforniaDTSr.Los Angeles, Calif.
Remel Meekins, RutgersDLSr.Westwood, N.J.
Dan Mozes, West VirginiaOLSr.Washington, Pa.
David Ochoa, KansasOLSr.Houston, Texas
Jeff Perrett, TulsaOTSr.Taber, Alberta
Jeremy Perry, Oregon StateOLSo.Laie, Hawaii
Quinn Pitcock, Ohio StateDTSr.Piqua, Ohio
Kurt Quarterman, LouisvilleOLSr.Albany, Ga.
Manuel Ramirez, Texas TechOLSr.Sugarland, Texas
SirVincent Rogers, HoustonOLJr.Jasper, Texas
Samson Satele, HawaiiOLSr.Kaneohe, Hawaii
Arron Sears, TennesseeOTSr.Russellville, Ala.
Jeremy Sheffey, West VirginiaGSr.Catlettsburg, Ky.
Brian Stamper, VanderbiltOTSr.Windermere, Fla.
Herbert Taylor, TCUOTSr.Houston, Texas
Shannon Tevaga, UCLAGJr.Paramount, Calif.
Joe Thomas, WisconsinOLSr.Brookfield, Wis.
Marcus Thomas, FloridaDTSr.Jacksonville, Fla.
Robert Turner, New MexicoGSr.Austin, Texas
Kelly Talavou, UtahDLSr.Santa Ana, Calif.
Tavo Tupola, UtahOLSr.Kahuku, Hawaii
Steve Vallos, Wake ForestOTSr.Boardman, Ohio
Greg Wafford, Kansas StateOLSr.Lancaster, Texas
Theodric Watson, South FloridaOLSr.St. Petersburg, Fla.
Eric Wood, LouisvilleOLSo.Cincinnati, Ohio
Kyle Young, Fresno StateCSr.Fallbrook, Calif.
Tackles, guards and centers are eligible for consideration
Candidates may be added or deleted during the season

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 900 men and women across North America who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards, a national poll and its annual All-America team.

Nebraska NEWS


Latest Headlines:

Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos HuskerOnline.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2014 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.